Analog tape compression circuit - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th January 2009, 09:20 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Analog tape compression circuit

hi all, been browsing this forum for awhile now, just taken the plunge.
i'm studying electronics at college, for the main reason of getting into audio design, but i'm still a bit of a beginner really.
for my first project i fancy building an analogue tape comp simulator, as i love that natural sounding saturation/compression. i've come across this design http://home3.netcarrier.com/~lxh2/tapesat.html
& have a question about it, it states that 'Any decent quality op-amps can be used'
so was wondering if anyone could enlighten me on this, as i'm not sure whether it means any op-amp or an audio specific one?
cheers
Old 16th January 2009, 10:24 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I suppose a ordinary 741 will be good enough and a safe card. Otherwise, maybe NE5534?

//Erik
Old 16th January 2009, 10:44 PM   #3
jman 31 is offline jman 31  United States
diyAudio Member

This is a very vague application. I have been looking at a DAT 12 track recorder that I was thinking about getting to run my digital recordings through to "warm" them up. I am curious as to where in the scheme of things this would be used? Would you put it between the instrument and the board, or after the total mix in to a final wav file? I guess I just am not getting enough info. I think it would be really cool if it worked and it would save me roughly $650 usd, but me thinks it's to good to be true?

Jman
Old 16th January 2009, 11:02 PM   #4
diyAudio Member