Need help with a Gilmore Jr. build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I finished assembling it a few days ago, but it is very noisy, and seems to be oscillating at a low frequency (I've never built an amp before, so I'm not sure this is what's happening, honestly). I have tried rerouting the filament power supply wires, the OT wires and the input wire, have reslodered a couple of leads on the turret board, and have generally poked and prodded all over the thing, but nothing I've done has had any effect at all.

I am emailing with Rich Guy at Guytronix about it, but we haven't really made any progress at all so far. Any advice anyone can give would be really helpful. I have some stuff here that should help:

http://www.lustyghost.com/gjr

-photos of my current layout
-readings taken at the tube sockets with the amp off and unplugged, nothing present at the input, and the tubes removed (html and excel files)
-an mp3 demonstrating the problem

The mp3 has a few different things:
1 - amp on, nothing plugged in to the input. Volume starts at lowest setting and sweeps to highest setting. tone is at highest setting.
2 - Same as 1 but with a guitar plugged in.
3 - Volume set low, guitar plays low E, high E and a cluster
4 - same, but with the volume set about halfway up.
5 - same, but with volume on full

The lower notes sound like they are being doubled an octave down, the higher notes sound kind of chimey, almos t like they're being ring modulated. The amp breaks up very early and the distortion is harsh and nonmusical.

I've noticed that the volume control crackles a little bit, a lot like the crackle that happens in a Rangemaster circuit because of the voltage across the pot. I haven't measured this yet.