transistor sockets

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So, I've got it into my head to put together an "Umble" pedal for my guitar. I'd like to put the J201 transistors in sockets, but I can't seem to find any TO-92 sockets at Digikey or Mouser (or anywhere else really). Does anyone know where I can find some? Am I looking for the wrong thing; do people use something else as sockets for these things?

Nigel Goodwin said:
Basically people haven't used transistor sockets for many decades, and for a guitar pedal it would be a VERY bad idea.

Really? I'm a complete noob here. Why would it be a very bad idea? I read somewhere that the transistors can/will fail eventually and so putting them in sockets is a good idea. What's the disadvantage?

Thanks for the advice!

Transistors in a properly designed circuit should have a very long lifetime, probably longer than ours. Sockets reduce reliability- they can oxidize and the parts can vibrate free. They reduce high frequency performance. Commercial equipment almost never uses sockets, and not for cost reasons. OTOH, I've been known to use the nice Augat Teflon sockets for front end transistors where the frequencies are low and I want to play with careful matching. I've also been known to cut off a strip of 3 machined contact sockets from a break-away strip, and use them for TO-92 devices. I have a radio where static can blow the input device, and I keep that in a socket for easy replacement. I wouldn't say nobody ever uses sockets, but it's less and less common, especially since SMT is taking over everything anyway.

BTW, it's little known, but gold sockets are a waste of time unless you have gold leads. High pressure tin leaf types are best for tin IC leads.

sneakers563 said: