Troubleshooting Crate G40C amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th November 2007, 08:14 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question Troubleshooting Crate G40C amp

Hello forum folks,
Newbie here, so please bear with me. I am seeking guidance on steps to take to repair a Crate G40C amp.
The beast will power up (indicator lights come on for power and channel selected), but NO sound. No sound through headphones either.
I did manage to obtain a schematic from Mackie.com (a big THANK YOU to Chrys in Tech Support). However, a basic stepwise approach to diagnosing the problem is needed.
I realise this might be simple stuff to most of you...but almost Greek to me! However..... I am trainable!
Any assistance with figuring this out would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

BTW.....if this post is in the wrong place, please accept my apologies and relocate it as needed.
Old 12th November 2007, 03:25 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default G40C repair

I don't know what type of repair instruments you have, but I ususlly check the power supply voltages first. My schematics only go back to 1999 and that was made in the late 1990's. If all the voltages are good, I then check the amp, which is a stereo amp in this cabinet. Can you hear any hiss out of the speakers at all? Check for any cracked solder joints at the input jacks and controls. The Crate amps have had a bad problem with the line out and amp in jacks on the back panel. If these have a dirty connection the amp goes mute. Besides that you would have to trace the signal with an oscilloscope to see where the signal is and isn't. I hope this helps.
Old 13th November 2007, 07:46 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks for the reply!