Troubleshooting Crate G40C amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello forum folks,
Newbie here, so please bear with me. I am seeking guidance on steps to take to repair a Crate G40C amp.
The beast will power up (indicator lights come on for power and channel selected), but NO sound. No sound through headphones either.
I did manage to obtain a schematic from Mackie.com (a big THANK YOU to Chrys in Tech Support). However, a basic stepwise approach to diagnosing the problem is needed.
I realise this might be simple stuff to most of you...but almost Greek to me! :xeye: However..... I am trainable!
Any assistance with figuring this out would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

BTW.....if this post is in the wrong place, please accept my apologies and relocate it as needed.

G40C repair

I don't know what type of repair instruments you have, but I ususlly check the power supply voltages first. My schematics only go back to 1999 and that was made in the late 1990's. If all the voltages are good, I then check the amp, which is a stereo amp in this cabinet. Can you hear any hiss out of the speakers at all? Check for any cracked solder joints at the input jacks and controls. The Crate amps have had a bad problem with the line out and amp in jacks on the back panel. If these have a dirty connection the amp goes mute. Besides that you would have to trace the signal with an oscilloscope to see where the signal is and isn't. I hope this helps.

Thanks for the reply!
I will follow your suggestions and see what I come up with.
No oscilloscope...but might be able to borrow one. Multimeter is best I can do now.
No noise at all out of speakers.
I do have schematics from Mackie.com but I needed basic knowledge to start searching this out.

Maybe I will get lucky and it be something simple.

Any other helpful thoughts would certainly be most welcome!
Thanks again.

Schematics ???

mandomaniac said: