Acoustic guitar amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th August 2007, 08:30 PM   #1
pojk is offline pojk  Norway
diyAudio Member

Default Acoustic guitar amp

Hi!

I've been searching the net for plans for an acoustic guitar amp and come up blank... thought this would be the place to ask..

anyone here who has plans for something like this, have built one, or any ideas?

I'd much appreciate any help...
Old 26th August 2007, 12:49 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Tube or SS? Combo or head unit?
Old 26th August 2007, 02:07 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

i'm still learning about all this, so i don't know all the pro's and con's but i was thinkning about an SS combo, for a clean acoustic sound...

also thought that building it myself would be an excellent way to learn.

The main use for this would to plug in my acoustic guitar, but it would also be great if mp3/cd/mic could be plugged in along with the guitar i.e the need for two channels, maybe with phantom power?!?
Old 26th August 2007, 07:59 PM   #4
Minion is offline Minion  Canada
diyAudio Member

the simplest way would probably be use a LM3886 chipamp with a simple Opamp buffer at the input with a Tone stack and then another Opamp with Gain......you could build a few different preamp curcuits (for low impedance and High impedance Inputs) and add a simple summing curcuit before the power amp stage......

This is simular to how I built my Electric Guitar/Bass amp accept I added several selectable overdrive stages and it is only one channel but it goes from very quiet with no overdrive engaged to super crunchy when the OD is engaged.....

Cheers
Old 26th August 2007, 09:32 PM   #5
diyAudio Member