Mini Ipod headphone amp DIY project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Today it is my honour to add my first developed and tested project implementation of my own, based on the popular CMOY circuit.

I spend the last few weeks trying to get the best quality yet smallest portable amplifier I could possible build.

Now, I'm no engineer so even though it is a simple project I am proud of havenig done it myself and it took many hours of testing and many unsatisfying prototypes before I got to this one

It is build into the Hammond 1551kbk case 3.19" x 1.57" x 0.79" (8 x 4 x 2cm) yep its tiny, in fact its shorter than my first generation Ipod shuffle.

My finished copy is a beaut, which inspired me to share the eagle file and main concept for anyone who wants to try their hand at doing something for themself.

Zero hiss, Zero humm, Zero distortion (well unless the battery is flat), It is so far the best I have heard the opa2132 sound... no input caps is the best input caps as they say (well unless you are going to put a DC source to it.. so please stick to ipods and mp3 players.

Also because there is no background hiss, one tends to keep upping the volume in between songs thinking the player stopped... the silince is a bit less severe with the stock earphones but is on the verge of imperceptablity to my hearing.

Bass is unrelenting and tops very clear due to the absence of highpass filter on the input -please add no dc here-
WARNING CAN PUT OUT SERIOUS VOLUME WICH CAN LEAD TO HEARING LOSS.
This is countered to some extent by the single cell power supply wich will start to clip the output when you start getting silly with the volume level.

OK now for the diagramme, I'm a bit tired and glowy now from a job well done and a very satisfying result I am proud to add my name as an audio amateur to.