tripath t2020 headphone - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th September 2006, 06:27 PM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: brussels
Default tripath t2020 headphone

hello everybody,

i wanna use my t2020 as a headphone amp,
i'm gonna put a 10 ohm 10 watt at the amp, and paralle to it, the headphone.

but may i connect the 2 gronds of the speakers to the one ground of the headphone ?


thanx a lot everybody
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2006, 09:59 PM   #2
ravon is offline ravon  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Netherlands
No. You will have to keep both channels completely separate, which probably results in a modification of the headphone.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2006, 11:26 PM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: brussels
oh my god, that's not funny,

but okay, i can mod to balanced mode.

but does it sound bad, good, or very good ?

thanx a lot
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2006, 10:09 AM   #4
ravon is offline ravon  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Netherlands
I expect it to sound very nice because the 10 Ohm shunt resistor parallel with the much higher headphone impedance (if you choose the right headphone) will result in an almost constant near 10 Ohm impedance load for the output filter of the TA-2020.
And if you dimension things right you may end up operating the TA-2020 at its optimum output power/distortion level, which in my case is at 8 Watt.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2006, 03:33 PM   #5
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Reykjavík
http://www.michael.mardis.com/sonic/start.html

Once you have taken care of the load impedance and the headphones have been rewired, I believe that there may be a problem with DC offset, at least according to this site. (Panomaniac's?)

I'd recommend you measure DC offset before connecting headphones without a DC blocking cap.

These are guesstimates, I don't have much experience with this. Just remembered having found that page about headphone use with Tripaths.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The End For Tripath??? Say It Ain't So! john65b Class D 228 14th March 2011 04:24 PM
Why Tripath? Davey T Class D 4 25th May 2009 09:14 PM
Another Tripath Amp chicks Class D 38 25th March 2009 05:24 PM
charlize t2020 mod-topic then_dude Class D 4 22nd December 2007 04:13 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:01 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2