Can I use a 01A in a headphone amp? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th April 2006, 02:55 PM   #1
sbelyo is offline sbelyo  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Can I use a 01A in a headphone amp?

I love those old globe type tubes. I was wondering if there was a schematic out there using a 01A and other tubes that could power headphones. I'm still learning how tubes should be used, so I'm guessing I'll need an output transformer?
Old 25th April 2006, 03:52 PM   #2
Rocky is offline Rocky  Norway
diyAudio Member

01A has a high Rp, about 10K IIRC, and very low current handling, in the area of 3mA... I don't think you easily can power headphones with it. 12A has same gain, half the Rp, and double current handling (7.6mA).. It looks like the 01A does and sounds like an angel.. you might be able to power headphones with that tube, loaded with something like a 20K:600R preamp OPT..

EDIT: high impedance headphones...
Old 25th April 2006, 05:02 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

I see.... I'm still at the point of need someone's schematic of a proven design to get anything to work.
Old 25th April 2006, 06:19 PM   #4
Rocky is offline Rocky  Norway
diyAudio Member

For inspiration, take a look at "The Journey" preamp by Bjørn Aaholm at http://vinyl.and.triodes.net/. It is similar to what you are trying to do exept you want lower output impedance.

A problem with only one stage DHT is getting enough gain, as you will have to trade it to get low enough output impedance to drive your headphones. "DHTRob" has an unusual twist on an headphone amp combining a DHT and a IDHT without output transformers, at http://www.dhtrob.com/projecten/hfdt...tage_1_en.htm. Could be worth a look.