Help with Tortello's headphone amp. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st October 2002, 08:37 PM   #1
Kram is offline Kram  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Question Help with Tortello's headphone amp.

Hello everyone,

I am in the process of finding parts to build Tortello's headphone amp ZEN-like headphones amp and have a few questions I hope some one can help me with. (By the way i have never built an amp before so be gentile with me ).

1. The transformer. what VA and secondary voltage is recommended for this design?
I found an 80VA 2x25 toroidal at www.maplin.co.uk stock No.vs24b, would this be suitable?

2. I have not been able to find anywhere (maplins, farnell and RS) the zener diodes that are on the schematic which Tortello sent me, could some one recommend suitable a replacement?

3. even more basic question now, sorry.
On the schematic some of the caps have one straight side with a + next to it and the other plate is curved, while some (actually only 1, C2) have both plates straight. what is the difference?
I know that there are many different types of caps all made from different materials, what type would you recommend for sound quality (However i am on a budget, sadly )

4. The Bias and Bal pots, are these trim pots?

OK I think that will do for now, I hope someone can help

Thankyou,
Kram
Old 1st October 2002, 10:44 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

A transformer at 80va rating is very good .I build mine with the same amount.
But use the secondaries in parallel for 0-25 volt.
At the results you will get around 35 volts on the unregulated supply.Just fine.

If you want to trim R15 (180k) - I refer to the schematic at page 1 of the thread- do it ! With a voltmeter measure set the drain of Q2 at half of the supply vaule.