300B SE for Electrostatic Headphone - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd September 2005, 07:10 AM   #1
Mushal is offline Mushal  South Korea
diyAudio Member

Default 300B SE for Electrostatic Headphone

Hi, Guys..

I'm planning to build the transformer coupled 300B amplifier for Stax Electrostatic Headphone. I'm a beginner for the circuit including the transformers. So, I'm not sure that the attatched schematic which I designed will work or not.

The gain and driver stage is not fixed, but, the output stage is almost same as the typical 300B Single Ended Amplifier. The voltage swing about 600Vpp is transferred to the headphone attatched to the secondary windings. I'm planning to use Lundahl 1677 which is designed for the interstage. Turn ratio is 1:2 and Primary DC Current can be up to 80 mA. The Price is not so bad.

Please, comment your opinions..
and, Recommend me the simple and good-sounding gain and driver stage for 300B SE also.

Best Regards
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 300b_1677_concept.jpg (59.9 KB, 344 views)
Old 23rd September 2005, 08:46 AM   #2
Mushal is offline Mushal  South Korea
diyAudio Member

Default Concept Schematics

This is concept schematics..
Old 23rd September 2005, 02:31 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hello Mushal,

the Lundahl 1677 has a max rating of 410Vpp and 80mA DC so it there might be too small a margin for your needs. Have you looked into the Sowter 8424 from www.sowter.co.uk? I have used it in severaly amps and it is a very good sounding transformer.

I have drawn a circuit based on amps I've built as a recommendation for your headphone amp:

Click the image to open in full size.