diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Headphone Systems (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/headphone-systems/)
-   -   LED biased EL84 headphone amp (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/headphone-systems/48438-led-biased-el84-headphone-amp.html)

baggystevo82 26th December 2004 05:13 PM

LED biased EL84 headphone amp

2 Attachment(s)
Hello all you wise people out there, I hope you can help me.
I've been tempted to buildthis circuit for a while now, but I've been inspired by SY's comments on LED biased output stages. Well this is what I have so far for the output stage, and I have a few questions. (please bear in mind I'm still fairly new to designing my own circuits)
How is the value of the grid input resistor derived, or if it is needed at all?
Same for the resistor between g2 and the anode on Helmut's design.
How is the value of the resistor accross the output terminals derived?

Thanks for any help,
Steve

baggystevo82 26th December 2004 09:03 PM

someone out there must know? Or have I missed something stupidly blatantly obvious?
Steve

G 26th December 2004 09:07 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by baggystevo82
someone out there must know? Or have I missed something stupidly blatantly obvious?
Steve

What bias voltage are you trying for on the cathode?

baggystevo82 26th December 2004 09:10 PM

6.8v
or 4 x 1.7, that's another thing actually, my christmas effected head can't quite get round. As the voltage dropped accross the LED's isn't a product of ohms law, they just have a constant drop anyway (relatively), does that mean that the layout shown in that schematic will have the same drop but with double the current handling of 4 LED's in series on their own?
Cheers,
Steve

audiousername 27th December 2004 10:06 AM

Quote:

does that mean that the layout shown in that schematic will have the same drop but with double the current handling of 4 LED's in series on their own?
Yep, 'think so. But I've got a 'Christmas-affected brain' too.