Headphone Switch Circuit - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th September 2004, 04:51 PM   #1
ble0t is offline ble0t  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Headphone Switch Circuit

I'm currently working on a pre-amp with built in headphone amplifier and I would like to mute the output of the pre-amp if headphones are plugged in. The headphone jack has a single switch in it (link here) that I would like to use to send a signal to my PIC to mute the output. Attached is an image of my intended circuit.

Would this work? The PIC has an ADC I would be using, so that is not an issue.

Thanks, and don't be too harsh...I'm only a newbie

EDIT: The little unconnected wire there is supposed to represent a switch...crude I know
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mute.jpg (6.6 KB, 295 views)
Old 30th September 2004, 08:22 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I don't mean to be pushy, but here's a little thread bump

Anyone have any thoughts on this at all?
Old 30th September 2004, 09:21 PM   #3
sam9 is offline sam9  United States
diyAudio Member

I don't know much (anything) about PIC but I assume that the mute works by applying a voltage within a specified range to a pin. If that's right the key would be to create voltage reference on that range. I don't know how fussy a PIC device is but assuming you already have a clean regulated PS, wouldn't a simple means be to just take a DC feed off the power supply and drop it to the control voltage by means of a zener diode. Then just wire your swith in series with the control voltage.