Headphone Switch Circuit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm currently working on a pre-amp with built in headphone amplifier and I would like to mute the output of the pre-amp if headphones are plugged in. The headphone jack has a single switch in it (link here) that I would like to use to send a signal to my PIC to mute the output. Attached is an image of my intended circuit.

Would this work? The PIC has an ADC I would be using, so that is not an issue.

Thanks, and don't be too harsh...I'm only a newbie :)

EDIT: The little unconnected wire there is supposed to represent a switch...crude I know :rolleyes:

Attachments

• mute.jpg
    mute.jpg
    6.6 KB · Views: 428
I don't know much (anything) about PIC but I assume that the mute works by applying a voltage within a specified range to a pin. If that's right the key would be to create voltage reference on that range. I don't know how fussy a PIC device is but assuming you already have a clean regulated PS, wouldn't a simple means be to just take a DC feed off the power supply and drop it to the control voltage by means of a zener diode. Then just wire your swith in series with the control voltage.

Alternative: Use the switch to control a DPDT reed relay that switches the preamp output signal either to the headphone amp input or to the preamp output jack. A good reed relay is very quite and should do no harm to the signal. It has the advantage that you can locate where it keeps the signal path short but the contol switch can be where it is convenient. The wire carring the DC control volage can be on any reasonable length and run most anywhere.