The REAL John Linsley Hood Headphone Amplifier

A long time ago I worked as a designer for low cost consumer mixing panels, had to cut out any possible component for cost. until the moment of truth came and AM reception was heard on the phono input. a sect in amsterdam claimed that the deveil could be heard between tracks. the fix was a ferrite bead on the base pin of the transistor, but it had to be glued as the ferrite movement/ratlle could be heard as magnetic induction/microphonics.

I have already been accused of fiddling with the original JLH circuit.
So I am not going to add a ferrit bead.

In the original circuit as posted by the deleted link in post #1, there is a RC at the input to filter off any RF pickup.
So I'll leave you to add that yourselves if so wish.

Patrick

Attachments

• JLH 1985 HPA.gif
    JLH 1985 HPA.gif
    7 KB · Views: 903
still the loop gain is very poor. the transistor output current is divided between the load and the feedback resistor, then at the entry into the emitters there is another division due to the gain dividing resistor. no current gain in the input transistors, only the beta of the output transistors. that is why we have to rely on linear beta transistors.

> The 2n2 cap has another function, to keep the hf loop gain high by grounding the bases of the input transistors.
Correct. So the usual trick of increasing the cap to limit bandwidth for stability does not work, because it actually increases OLG at HF.
Took me a little while to realise that.

> still the loop gain is very poor.
Already explained in the article. See post #35.

> the transistor output current is divided between the load and the feedback resistor,
If you can make it drive 30R load, 1k in addition is no issue.

> no current gain in the input transistors, only the beta of the output transistors.
Hence the use of Darlingtons in the modified version.

> that is why we have to rely on linear beta transistors.