Headphone amplifier mod recommendation

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello DIY'ers!

This is my first post in this forum, so a bit about me. I am a headphone audio enthusiast. My main rig is Mac -> Matrix m-stage hpa-3u+ dac/amp -> hd6xx/HE560. I'm not a bass head, but don't hate it if it's clean. And more important I am not a DIY guy. I know pretty much nothing about electronics.

I am here because my matrix amp used to have a very shitty sound until someone suggested I change the capacitors (in head-fi), suggested I replace input wima caps with Audyn Plus and coupling nichicon with Elna Silmic II as described here. Once I did that, I started digging the sound of my amp. It sounds a little bass light compared to earlier, but really detailed and natural.

I have a second headphone amp, a nuforce ha-200 which i want to check can be improved. I'm not technically competent to know what can be replace easily but I can tell you it has 14 Eelna re3 1000uf/25v caps. It also says (J) in the caps, if that means something. I really don't want to break the bank with this mod, so if the parts are around $50 then I would really love to try out the mods. What I am looking for is a much blacker background (similar to the modded matrix) and better layering.

The reason I would love to improve this amp is because I can get two of these and setup a mono-block config (when I have enough money), which sounds interesting.

I am including a bunch of pics that I took or found elsewhere.

Interieur-11.jpg

VM23aL5b_o.jpg

ksdlcfIx_o.jpg

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.