Single ended discrete HP amp - question about earthing - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th May 2017, 07:21 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Single ended discrete HP amp - question about earthing

Hi, I built a single ended headphone amplifier some time ago. I also built a low noise discrete linear Power Supply for it... I'm using HiFiMan HE400s headphones and iFi iDSD nano as source. Music is streamed either from laptop or HTPC from a NAS with 2x4TB HDDs...

I am struggling to get to the bottom of an earthing issue and need some advice. I am an experienced electronics engineer but still I have run out of ideas on how to resolve this issue...

The PSU case is earthed, there is a IEC RFI filter input... Does it make sense to disconnect that earth and only earth the common 0V output of the headphone amplifier or leave that floating also?

Thanks in advence for any advise offered!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 16406581_10207861567167173_4267927145793428581_n.jpg (71.8 KB, 148 views)
Old 11th May 2017, 07:30 AM   #2
Mooly is offline Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator

Welcome to diyAudio

You haven't actually said what the issue is... I take it that it is a hum or a buzz getting into the audio.

A stand alone headphone amp like you show should be silent when fed its correct working voltage and with nothing (or perhaps just shorting plugs) connected to the input.

That has to be the first check, as external grounding issues shouldn't figure in that scenario.
Old 11th May 2017, 08:09 AM   #3
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

Quote: