Noise cancelling earbuds for job

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello

New to the forum but been reasearching a lot on audio for a long time.

Im a quality assurance tech in a manufacture plant. I work about 9 hours a day with isolating earbud headphones (claim to be 30db isolation). I need the earphones because i communicate constantly with coworkers on a c.b radio.

I have trouble hearing my coworkers around me (the ones speaking in front of me). Because of all the machines making noise. So i thought about buying a pair of active noise cancelling headphones to plug into the c.b radio (standard 3.5mm jack).

Will those headphones cancel out the people talking in front of me ? From what i read it will cancel out most noise from the machines. But i still need to hear my employees talking to me.

If so wich affordable headphones will do a good job. I dont necessarily need high sound quality from the headphones. Just to be clear enough to understand the c.b radio.

Thanks

Noise cancelling earbuds/ headphones will cancel out everything around you, including what your coworkers are saying. If you can set up a noise cancelling microphone that your coworkers can use to talk to you, that would be best. Mix the microphone and CB signals and feed that into your headphones.

That is utter nonsense! Have you ever had noise canceling headphones? It looks like you do not even understand the basic principle.
I understand it a lot better than you, apparently. Active noise cancelling headphones have tiny microphones built into the headpieces. These pick up the sound from the surroundings and send it to an amplifier which inverts it and mixes it with the signal being sent to the headphones.

Unless these microphones can distinguish between sounds from the co-workers and sounds from the machines, the sounds from the co-workers will also get cancelled.