[Headamp] upgrading a Lehmann BCL clone - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th January 2016, 01:20 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default [Headamp] upgrading a Lehmann BCL clone

Dear DIYers,

I decided to throw myself on a DIY Lehmann BCL clone. I am a beginner and you should treat me as a fresh one.

I know my soldering and how to work clean and I'm a perfectionist but next to that I have barely the proper knowledge to make right decisions on circuitry.

Lately I have been reading a lot on this forum and other forums to gather more knowledge about different parts and what they are supposed to do. Got me a little wiser but not anything near my goal. That's why I want to share my project here. I hope to get some good tips here about my next few steps.

Since I am currently located in China, I can get my hands on a lot of parts easily and cheap and I ordered a clone PCB and a package of parts that was supposed to be almost identical to the latest version of the original BCL. The components are genuine from RS-components. The tranformer used was a german made BLOCK 40VA instead of the original custom made 30VA.

Click the image to open in full size.

After I put it all together and put it up for the smoke test all worked fine and I was amazed what this machine was capable of even with stock components.

Click the image to open in full size. Click the image to open in full size.

I decided to upgrade: