ESL headphones and amp.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey everyone!

first post, ive been lurking.
im going to get straight to the point!

I am wanting to build a set of ESL headphones and a direct drive amp.
ive been doing some research but ide much rather have a discussion with you guys about it as im a little confused and there really is SO much information to try and catch up on.
basically i have moved away from my wife and home for 3 months for work, this is going to give me some DIYing time. however im reluctant to spend the whole time researching (and it seems i could spend 5 years researching before i start assembling), as then i wont get a chance to actually build anything!

im confident of my hand skills and have experience with electrical circuits of all kinds. (im an avionics engineer, so although i dont work with the intricacies of audio often i understand most electrical and signal, circuit concepts)

im thinking of of basing my designs on the following two designs.

All-Triode Direct-Drive Amps for Electrostatic and Electret Headphones | HeadWize
DIY Electrostatic Headphones | HeadWize

although this is just my initial idea, and i am really wanting your input to help me decide what is going to be the best path to go down.

my initial question.

1/ what is this going to cost me ROUGHLY in parts for headphones and amp. time is irrelevant, and i do have access to cnc machines etc, so this is parts only.
i do have access to a bunch of random parts, but lets assume i have nothing, and am working on a budget (ie i cant afford $240 for apex op amps) im planning on upgrading components over time as i can afford them.

thanks very much for your time.
looking forward to working with you!

Hi,

I've made many pairs of electrostatic headphones, and I'm sure I can give you some help.

Have you come across my thread?