CMoy with other Chips - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st January 2015, 12:05 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default CMoy with other Chips

I am new to this field. I like to build a CMoy headphone amp but could not find any OPA (BB) chip in my local market (I am from a sounth Asian country). However, I got NE5532 chip. Can i build a CMoy amp with NE5532? Can anyone kindly give me a schematic to build a CMoy amp with NE5532. I will appreciate any help in this regard. Thank You all.

Last edited by jhorapalok; 21st January 2015 at 12:12 AM.
Old 21st January 2015, 12:22 AM   #2
bimo is offline bimo  Indonesia
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhorapalok View Post
I am new to this field. I like to build a CMoy headphone amp but could not find any OPA (BB) chip in my local market (I am from a sounth Asian country). However, I got NE5532 chip. Can i build a CMoy amp with NE5532? Can anyone kindly give me a schematic to build a CMoy amp with NE5532. I will appreciate any help in this regard. Thank You all.
Yes, you can. But you should use 600 ohm headphone to get distortion low. If you use headphone impedance below 600 ohm, you can add buffer after NE5532.
Old 21st January 2015, 01:40 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

I added a simple op amp headphone driver to a mobile disco setup I used to own.
I put a 100R resistor on each channel output so I could drive 8 ohm headphones.
It wasn't deafening but it was loud enough above the disco to be recognisable.
I used the headphones for setting up the next track to play.

If you dont want to add resistors then a high impedance headphone will be required.
Old 21st January 2015, 01:50 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

How to Build the CMoy Pocket Amplifier
Old 21st January 2015, 02:20 AM   #5