CMoy with other Chips

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to this field. I like to build a CMoy headphone amp but could not find any OPA (BB) chip in my local market (I am from a sounth Asian country). However, I got NE5532 chip. Can i build a CMoy amp with NE5532? Can anyone kindly give me a schematic to build a CMoy amp with NE5532. I will appreciate any help in this regard. Thank You all.

Last edited:
I am new to this field. I like to build a CMoy headphone amp but could not find any OPA (BB) chip in my local market (I am from a sounth Asian country). However, I got NE5532 chip. Can i build a CMoy amp with NE5532? Can anyone kindly give me a schematic to build a CMoy amp with NE5532. I will appreciate any help in this regard. Thank You all.

Yes, you can. But you should use 600 ohm headphone to get distortion low. If you use headphone impedance below 600 ohm, you can add buffer after NE5532.

I added a simple op amp headphone driver to a mobile disco setup I used to own.
I put a 100R resistor on each channel output so I could drive 8 ohm headphones.
It wasn't deafening but it was loud enough above the disco to be recognisable.
I used the headphones for setting up the next track to play.

If you dont want to add resistors then a high impedance headphone will be required.

It's the nature of the CMoy design - the less-than-optimal loading of the op amps with low-impedance headphones. That sacrifice in return for simplicity and portability. I say give the 5532 a try. The CMoy is, at its core, a textbook op amp circuit. I don't think the schematic needs to be modified.

Yes, you can. But you should use 600 ohm headphone to get distortion low. If you use headphone impedance below 600 ohm, you can add buffer after NE5532.