Headphone Amplifier project - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd September 2014, 08:30 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Headphone Amplifier project

Hello.

This is my first post on this forum so i should introduce myself. I'm an microprocessor electronics student in the third year. Also i like listening to good music so i bought Sennheiser HD558 headphones and a xonar dx(2Vrms lineout) sound card (dac). The last thing i need in my setup is a good headphone amplifier and since i need to make a project analogue device for my faculty i thought this would be the perfect project.

I decided on making the much known o2 amp but since i will be using it mainly (99.9%) with my pc i don't need it to be portable (no batteries).

Modifications(i can't make an exact amp even if i wanted to)
-no wall transformer, complete psu inside the case (220-240v to 15v, 0.667a transformator)(reason for this is that i can't find a ac to ac wall adapter. They look at me like crazy when i ask for it (ac to ac)).
-no batteries(amp will be used with pc so it will be stationary).
-no offboard imput/output
-no gain switch, fixed gain (probably 3x)
-6.3mm jack (don't know how hard it is to make both 6.3 and 3.5mm)

My questions are as follows:
What will happen if i put the transformer inside the case with the amp? Will there be interference and how should i shield it if there is? Separate pcb or some shielding?
Will i have any problems if i remove R1 and R2?
Can i use smd op amps?
How to ground, how many ground points will i need?
I can't find njm4556 and 2068. Which op amps should i use? Availability is not great so it would be ideal if i can find it here: RADNA (just type in the part number) or eventually here: