connect two inverting op amps together

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
i did some reading on wikipedia and apparently an inverting feedback amplifier layout has lower distortion compared to a non inverting feedback loop, so assume i make something like the design below, will it work? (picture only shows 1 channel)
spY0t8B.jpg

the first op amp will invert the signal and handle the gain where gain = 1 + R2/R1
the second op amp will have no gain and just invert the signal again

assume that the thing above actually works, do i really need R3?
following the above question, is the reduced distortion actually worth doing? will using 2 inverting feedback loops actually have more distortion compared to just 1 non inverting feedback loop?

im kind of lost here as i am quite new to diy audio, please help, any help will be appreciated

That config will not work (go back to your inverting op amp gain equation to see why)

Better if the gain is spread across 2 inverting config op amps more or less equally.

Anyway, does it really matter if the output is inverted?

Last edited:
thanks, i just realised what's wrong with my schematics, so basically the second op amp inverts the inverted signal but Vout would be 0 since 0/R3 = 0

so what if i do something like the schematic below?
cSNkTPJ.jpg

where:
R2 = R4
R1 = R3 = R2/2
gain would be 4 if i didnt mess things up right?

Anyway, does it really matter if the output is inverted?
i dont know, i used search around the forums as well as on google and there are no conclusive answers, people did say that a lot of preamps and CD players are inverting however

sidenote, what happens if i use resistors with larger resistances but remain proportional for all the numbers, like
R2 = 1000, R1 = 500
compared to
R2 = 10, R1 = 5

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member