Looking for a Headphone Amplifier - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th September 2013, 10:37 PM   #1
weemo is offline weemo  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default Looking for a Headphone Amplifier

So..let me introduce myself to the forum. I am new to this whole amplifier thing. I have my Grado Lab headphones which I love and my good cowon mp3 player..started looking for amplifiers, started from the commercial ones, ended up in DIY amplifiers. From the tinbox to the o2..From LME-49990 (because I keep hearing is a good OP-AMP) to this website. Anyways...I could tackle a simple DIY..The problem?? so much information but alot is outdated. I need simple pointers to the most recent DIY stuff with my beginning knowledge in mind.

Thanx!
weemo
Old 18th September 2013, 12:06 AM   #2
davym is offline davym  Scotland
diyAudio Member

Hi weemo, I recon the Cmoy is probably one of the easiest to make, it's quite cheap and if you don't want to have to make a board and source components there are some decent kits around. You can get an idea if you do an ebay search for Cmoy kit, the dual chip version sounds very good indeed through my Grados for the little amount it cost to build.
Old 18th September 2013, 12:59 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by davym View Post
Hi weemo, I recon the Cmoy is probably one of the easiest to make, it's quite cheap and if you don't want to have to make a board and source components there are some decent kits around. You can get an idea if you do an ebay search for Cmoy kit, the dual chip version sounds very good indeed through my Grados for the little amount it cost to build.