Any good DIY amps for low impedence/high sensitivity headphones? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th May 2012, 04:20 PM   #1
haejuk is offline haejuk  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Any good DIY amps for low impedence/high sensitivity headphones?

I am new to DIY and would like to build a desktop amp that will work well with my Denon D2000 headphones. They are low impedance (25 ohm) with 106dB/mW sensitivity. I am looking to build either a solid state amp or a hybrid amp that is suitable to drive them. I have heard that the Starving Student Hybrid is too noisy to work well with these phones.

Basically I want to know which desktop DIY amps have low output impedance, a black background, and are able to deliver a good amount of current into 25 ohms. Also thinking of getting a pair of orthos, if I can find something that delivers enough current that plays nice with my D2ks.

Any suggestions? I am working on an O2, but really want a nice big thing for my desktop for my next project. I am curious about CKKIII, but don't know the specs I am interested in.
Old 8th May 2012, 05:33 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Location: Barrio Garay,Almirante Brown, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Perhaps a simple TDA2822 can do the job.
Old 9th May 2012, 02:59 AM   #3
jcx is offline jcx  United States
diyAudio Member

you don't need V gain at all - buffer not amp - consumer Desktop source mostly 2 Vrms, most DAP 1 Vrms 0 db fs

even then a ~12 dB stepdown audio ouptut xfmr would be best to preserve S/N
Old 10th May 2012, 02:09 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Some of this will explain the above post.
Old 10th May 2012, 08:43 PM   #5
diyAudio Member