diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Headphone Systems (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/headphone-systems/)
-   -   Any good DIY amps for low impedence/high sensitivity headphones? (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/headphone-systems/212351-any-good-diy-amps-low-impedence-high-sensitivity-headphones.html)

haejuk 8th May 2012 04:20 PM

Any good DIY amps for low impedence/high sensitivity headphones?

I am new to DIY and would like to build a desktop amp that will work well with my Denon D2000 headphones. They are low impedance (25 ohm) with 106dB/mW sensitivity. I am looking to build either a solid state amp or a hybrid amp that is suitable to drive them. I have heard that the Starving Student Hybrid is too noisy to work well with these phones.

Basically I want to know which desktop DIY amps have low output impedance, a black background, and are able to deliver a good amount of current into 25 ohms. Also thinking of getting a pair of orthos, if I can find something that delivers enough current that plays nice with my D2ks.

Any suggestions? I am working on an O2, but really want a nice big thing for my desktop for my next project. I am curious about CKKIII, but don't know the specs I am interested in.

Osvaldo de Banfield 8th May 2012 05:33 PM

Perhaps a simple TDA2822 can do the job.

jcx 9th May 2012 02:59 AM

you don't need V gain at all - buffer not amp - consumer Desktop source mostly 2 Vrms, most DAP 1 Vrms 0 db fs

even then a ~12 dB stepdown audio ouptut xfmr would be best to preserve S/N

burgunder 10th May 2012 02:09 PM

Some of this will explain the above post.

haejuk 10th May 2012 08:43 PM

That did explain it quite well. It also makes me want to try to build something similar to what was made in that link, but I don't have the knwoledge to put it together without pcbs, circuit diagram, and BOM. I might be able to just get it done with a circuit diagram, but I think I should get some more experience first.