The Objective2 (O2) Headphone Amp DIY Project

Yes I am very sure that the components are oriented correctly. A visual inspection also reveals not much wrong with the soldering. I measured the voltage across by placing the probes on either side of the diode leads. (or maybe I am doing something massively stupid and this is not the way to measure the voltage across)

So what did i do to break it?

My self-built O2 was working quite well. I am an experienced circuit builder so this came as no surprise to me.

And then i took it on a trip. And the wall transformer i brought with me turned out to be 12vdc, and i didn't realize that mistake until I'd tried to charge and/or power the O2 with it for some hours.

I finally laid hands on my 16vac transformer again today and the O2 is silent.

I haven't got the right screwdriver with me right now at work to open it up.

When i get it home and have the ability to open it up and prod at it with diagnostic implements, what should i look for?

When i get it home and have the ability to open it up and prod at it with diagnostic implements, what should i look for?

I'll take a guess that the negative voltage regulator (U6) is dead if your DC supply was tip-positive and that U5 is dead if your adapter was tip-negative.