Building headphones around HD600 drivers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have managed to get my hands on some Sennheiser HD600 drivers.
Any suggestions on how I can build a pair of headphones around them?
What materials should i use? Maple wood? Plastic? Carbon Fiber? (Always been interested in working with carbon fiber, although i have no prior experience working with it)
And should i make it open or closed?
I have a limited budget, less cost would be better.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hi,

The HD600's appear to be open backed, so you should stick with that.

The Jecklin Float is a simple design you could presumably copy.

rgds, sreten.

images

You could go the long way and experiment. You can try out how they sound open, closed, circumaural.. everything until you decide what you like best. Find out how different padding affects the sound. You can start with cheap materials like pvc pipe for the earcups, then move into wood or carbon fiber when you settle on a final design.

Hi,

What is in the bottom picture ? Stripping my HD407's it seems the bass
is tuned by some controlled air leakage around the diaphragm. Its hard
to say how they will sound used in those sealed muffs, I doubt a single
hole will make much difference.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Very open arrangement. Perhaps leave the shells off alltogether.

rgds, sreten.

being a lover of my hd600, you will kill them by placing them in a closed back design, perhaps they will still sound better than other headphones you have, but they will be nowhere near what they are capable of. the strength of the hd600 is a fairly open, dynamic and fast sound, this is enabled by the open back