need basic custom headphone mixer/amp advice - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th April 2011, 01:21 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default need basic custom headphone mixer/amp advice

This is my first project so I need the most basic of basic instructions please. I've seen a couple of posts about projects with similar, but not exact specs, so maybe I've just got to modify one of them.

I'm looking to build a headphone mixer with the following necessary specs:
  • 2 x 3.5mm headphone outputs with separate volume adjustment knobs
  • 1 x stereo 1/4" TRS input
If it's not too much more cost or too difficult, the following additions would be great:
  • 1 x SPDIF inputs
  • 3 or 4 headphone outputs
With regards to power supply I have no idea, so will need some help on that - can't see that on/off switch is necessary though.

I also live in Australia, so don't know if that affects anything.

Don't care if it's transistor or tube driven.

Any help greatly appreciated. I've no experience but I am a fast learner!

Last edited by oshunANDurth; 20th April 2011 at 01:41 AM.
Old 20th April 2011, 03:06 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Requirements 1,2, and 4 are fairly easy. Someone (sorry I forget whom) here at DIYaudio was praising the TPA6120A2 headphone driver from TI, for example. Build a circuit for each output, with a buffer/distribution amp feeding them. If you want a discrete solid-state or tube circuit, understand that that will be more involved, and the end product will be considerably larger in size!. But your wants are general so there's lots of options. You didn't mention anything about the headphones you plan to use.