Looking for headphone amp.......... - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th April 2011, 03:01 AM   #1
JoeDJ is offline JoeDJ  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Looking for headphone amp..........

First of all, why are headphone amps so %%^$ expensive?

I'm looking for a fairly good, inexpensive 2ch headphone amp but, I can't even find any bad inexpensive ones.
Are there any good kits avalible as I have plenty of experience in assembling electronic kits.

BTW, I still remember the fantasic sound of my
"Superex" ES headphones of the "70s.

Last edited by JoeDJ; 13th April 2011 at 03:04 AM.
Old 13th April 2011, 04:21 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

There's likely to be kits available, but I can't say I'm familiar with any.
Radio Shack sells the Boosteroo headphone amp for $30, powered by 2 AA cells. It isn't bad, and its size is great for portability. It uses the National Semiconductor LM4808 set for a gain of 10, if you'd like to check the datasheet.
There are lots of DIY headphone amp projects. From basic op amps to discrete transistor and tube circuits. You'll have to do the research to see if any are worth your while. Along with this forum, there's headfi.org which is dedicated to headphone listening.
Old 13th April 2011, 04:31 AM   #3
iko is offline iko  Canada
diyAudio Moderator

You might get a lot of suggestions if you define "inexpensive." $33, $100, $200, what? Portable? Energy efficient? Class A WATT pigs but amazing sound? You have to describe what you want, then people will help.
Old 13th April 2011, 04:43 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

I just found this kit by "Ramsey"
Personally, I have no idea of their quality but, it's the kind of amp I'm looking for and is in the right price range.