Headphone output is not working?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, it's my first time on this site and as I was reading through the forums here and I just saw a section for headphones and I was wondering if anyone works with ipods or knows anything about the output section? Well when I was servicing an amplifier I had a "home made" RCA cord that plugged into the amplifier and well the open part touched the chassis of the amp. Could this have destroyed my iPod output?? And does anyone know if it could be repaired?

In my experience, iPod outputs are usually quite resilient to things like shorts to ground and other problems on the ouput. If the iPod still plays and music can still be heard through the headphones socket, then there shouldn't be anything wrong. If you can't here anything though, it is likely that the output stages are damaged and it is highly unlikely that they can be repaired-at least easily. One solution would probably be fitting a new motherboard, but for the price and hassle, you may as well go and buy a new iPod. :(

The output stages in iPods and other MP3 players probably use minute opamps and other IC's which are extremely difficult to replace by hand (all iPods are put together by machines which can achieve much greater levels of accuracy and are much cheaper than doing it by hand).

jackand08 --You speak truly. Just disassembly and getting it back together is a pain. I would have no problem replacing the part and would do it no strings attached. Also if we could get the schematic I would try to resource the part, but in order for Apple to build this teriffic product they had to incorporate such a high degree chip level integration that we might not be even talking about a op-amp as such, but op-amp circutry that is a sub assembly in a larger scale IC. Does it make any noise? Anyone had one apart? What model exactly?

Last edited: