DIY headphone amp for beginner on a budget

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,

I did not see a similar thread anywhere, so I figured it would be OK to start this. Sorrt for any redundancy.

I have a pair of Grado SR-325s, which are very nice. But I don't really have anything to drive them with. I was using my computer / ipod, but as soon as I turned up the volume even slightly, the bass became distorted. I have a Sansui AU-719 integrated with headphone outs, but its location is very inconvenient for me to use as a headphone amp.

I primarily listen to rock and jazz. Occasionally, I put on NPR's classical radio station.

What can I build that would put some life into the Grados? I would like to spend about $50. It must have easily obtainable parts, which are luckily the cheap ones in most situations. It also can't be incredibly difficult to build because I am a total noob. At the same time, I thought this would be an easier project than a DIY amplifier or crossover network.

Thanks, Jim

Joined 2007
Paid Member
Hi :p

I was wondering if any of the projects in this part of the forum could have your interest? In that case others also may work on the same project and you will have back-up in case something does not turn out the way it is supposed ..

Just a thought.

Greetings,

Jesper

Under $50, you're not going to get much further than a decent CMOY variation.

I suggest the tutorial on Tangents website (How to Build the CMoy Pocket Amplifier) or, if you'd like something easily portable, the AMB labs Mini3 (The Mini³ Portable Stereo Headphone Amplifier). Read the documentation for both and you'll have a good start.

A good CMOY with a decent pot and a high quality opamp will get close to $50 by the time you've put it in a case.

Hi,