5v SMPS for headphone amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey all. I'm a hobbyist tinkerer, and for my next project I'm wanting to build a USB-powered audio amplifier for some headphones. The headphones aren't anything great, and I'll find some generic Burr-Brown op-amps (suggestions?) to fire them with. USB is for power-only.

I know I could buy some powered headphones, or a premade amp, but that defeats the whole purpose of me building it. :)

I'd like guidance on building a small SMPS, even as far as winding my own inductors if there's nothing off-the-shelf (I have plenty of scavenged toroid cores). I'd like to use a boost converter (I'm still not very versed with inductors), and some mechanism to invert the voltage.

I am fairly familiar with driving N-channel equipment, and prefer FETs. I'd like for the supply to be self-regulating and hang around +- 9v regardless of output load (as I understand it, minimum load is quite the pain for a dumb SMPS).

Suggestions and such welcome! :)

You're picking a particularly challenging combination of components:
SMPS, USB powered & headphones.

The headphones will be ruthless in their discrimination of PSU noise.

Depending on your PC, the USB power could be quite contaminated with all sorts of hash starting at the 1KHz USB frame rate and going on up to the UHF band (and beyond:xeye: I can't measure)

Not to say it can't be done well but you'll need to consider DC to light in your filter assessment.
Keep us posted and we'll help however we can:)

Do you really need that much voltage for the headphones? Rail-to-rail op-amps fed from filtered 5V may produce enough output. Another option is to produce a -5V rail and use the same R2R approach (doubles the output voltage).