Balanced Reference Headphone Amplifier in

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hallo to everybody,

I whish to propose to the community my idea regarding a headphone amplifier in SUSY configuration (if Mr. Pass agree….) using well regarded sounding chip LT1210CT7 as a output stage and LME49710 as a input stage. This project is conceived as a Balanced Reference Amplifier for domestic use capable to drive any kind of balanced wired dynamic headphone from 25 to 600 Ohm with negligible distortion at any SPL level.
In the attached schematic the proposed implementation:

As a input stage, an instrumentation amplifier configuration is chosen, that give two advantages: The possibility to use balanced or single ended input and above all , proper balanced driving for the next stage in SUSY configuration as suggested from Mr. Pass in a previous discussions regarding SUSY theory.

As I’m not a skilled designer ( this is my first project !), I’m not sure about the DC offset behaviour of this combo. For this particular application I don’t understand if the offset generated by two LT1210 is nulled by the crossed feedback configuration or not.
In any case, I’ve added a very clean offset control circuit (R26/27 should be set for 1-2mA). Is possible to realize this auxiliary circuit in a different and more elegant way using a now again available REF 200 chip from RS Components. Using this chip as in the application note , the voltage swing furnished is less , maybe not enough to null the output offset , considering the low gain of the input stage.

The values for the feedback gain network of the LT1210 are set for maximum flat and extended bandwidth (35/40 MHz for 60/100 Ohm load) and C7/C8 are for capacitive loads stability up to 1000pF. as in case of a 3m. long typical headphone cable.