Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th October 2008, 02:26 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question simplest LED circuit driven by mp3 player headphone amp

Hey guys, what is the simplest circuit I can use to get an LED to light up every time the headphone amp of my iRiver mp3 player gets up to, say, -24dB?
Old 15th October 2008, 12:42 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

try something like this. first set the bias threshold to where the LED barely begins to turn on, and back off 1/10 of a turn or less. then play a tone into the circuit at the desired signal level and adjust until the LED is barely lit,
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sig light.jpg (14.3 KB, 488 views)
Old 15th October 2008, 05:01 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

sweet, but check it out. i'm a total noob so is that arrow on the bottom a ground? since this gonna be portable and isn't actually gonna be able to touch a ground, would that be the negative terminal on the 9 volt battery? do I also connect the ground from my headphone amp to the same place?

I have 2N2222 transistors. how would i modify this to use that part?
Old 15th October 2008, 11:29 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

you could use the 2N2222 transistors, but your bias voltage will be about 0.7V instead of between 3 and 5V, so you will want to replace the 100k resistor (R3) with a 10k or 20k. R1 would connect to the collector, ground to the emitter and the junction of R2,R3 to the base.