Headphone Line-Out Voltages - (Newbie DMM AC Voltage Reading)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Greetings all,

(First, I apologize because this I'm confident this is a really basic question, but I've spent all afternoon trying to figure out the right search terms; if you know the right search terms, I'd be happy to do the research myself.)

Background: I'm a newbie to DIY. I just got some Audio Technica ATH-AD700 headphones and am building a Cmoy to drive them. I'm following the tangentsoft.com guide.

QUESTION:
I'm trying to measure the maximum likely voltage that my amp will receive from my computer. (See http://tangentsoft.net/audio/opamp-wv.html ) I set my computer volume levels to 90% and generated a 1kHz sine wave. (I cautiously hooked up my headphones to ensure it sounded correct.) I plugged in a 1/8" extension cable and tried to measure the output voltage, but my DMM read 00.0v. After much experimentation I found that pushing the volume levels up to 95 then 100% resulted in 0.1V then 0.2V; I expected at least 1-2volts, so I'm confused.

EQUIPMENT:
I'm using a Mastech MAS830L DMM and a SoundBlaster X-Fi soundcard. The manual says it can handle 40-400Hz AC and has AC voltage settings for 200V and 600V with accuracy of 100mV. (I'm using the 200V setting.) I've heard some cheaper multimeter's have trouble with AC, but can't find anything about this particular meter. When I discovered the meter's 40-400Hz range I tried other frequencies like 60Hz and 120Hz (and variations of those). I tested the wall socket power for a reading of 122.46V so it appears the multimeter is working, so I assume operator error.

Looking to learn whatever I can, any help is appreciated. I'm sure I'm missing something basic, feel free to "let 'er rip".
-- trelin

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Hi,