headphone adapter for my first loudspeaker - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Headphone Systems

Headphone Systems Everything to do with Headphones

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th March 2008, 07:39 AM   #1
whoozit is offline whoozit  United States
diyAudio Member

Default headphone adapter for my first loudspeaker

Hello friends,

I am a newbie and a future audiophile. I have a question about my first loudspeaker from last year. This MS-paint picture shows how it was set up.

Click the image to open in full size.

When we connected the two ends of the magnet-wire to my friend's stereo system, lo and behold, the coil induced a magnetic field, which interacted with the permanent magnetic field and the cone vibrated producing sound.

(Sorry if that was long-winded and unnecessary. As a newbie, I am happy that I'm finally understanding this stuff.)

My friend's amplifier had ports in the back to connect to speakers using magnet wire, but I don't have one of these systems. I would like this speaker to play sound from my mp3 player.

What kind of adapter do I need to connect the two ends of this magnet-wire to a 1/8" headphone jack?

I have looked and looked, but I haven't found any adapters that look like they could connect my speaker to an mp3 player.

I realize that I will also need an amplifier, but I think (I hope) I can build one. My question is how to use this speaker with an mp3 player. Any advice is much appreciated.
Old 25th March 2008, 10:30 AM   #2
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Hi, the amplifier is also the adaptor, /sreten.
Old 25th March 2008, 05:17 PM   #3
diyAudio Member