high silver solder - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Group Buys

Group Buys Members group buys

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th March 2006, 01:57 PM   #1
bevo538 is offline bevo538  United States
diyAudio Member

Default high silver solder

Hi everyone. I am new to diyAudio, which I know draws suspicion. But I have been an Audiogon member (ID = bevo) for a couple years and ebay for many years (texlonghorn538). I am curious in gauging interest in a group buy on some custom solder. In my "day job" I have a client who manufacturers solder commercially. Not a small boutique manufacturer, but a large commercial manufacturer. As a result of my relationship, I have asked them about the possibilty of custom blending an audiophile solder with 5% and even 7% silver content (no lead - although that is not necessary if leaded it preferred). Diameter is .047 inches. I will warn you now - it ain't cheap - $30/pound for 5% and $40/pound for 7% not including shipping costs. Also, this is solder, not brazing rods, but it still requires a high temperature iron.

Any interest? We need a minimum of 20 lbs. If we get this going, I need some guidance concerning how to actually coordinate payment, etc. I will handle the order and shipping to each of you. Thanks for the interest.

Any interest?
Old 5th March 2006, 02:50 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

sorry - my typing skills leave something to be desired. My ebay ID is texaslonghorn538. Sorry for the stupidity.
Old 8th April 2006, 01:31 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Exclamation UPDATED INFO !!!

UPDATE: I can now get this custom solder blend by the gram in 20 or 24ga diameter. I can also get it in any quantity, including single grams. For 5.5% Ag/94.5% Sn, the cost is $12/gram. If there is any further interest, please feel free to email me at lmheim@excite.com. Thanks.