• These commercial threads are for private transactions. diyAudio.com provides these forums for the convenience of our members, but makes no warranty nor assumes any responsibility. We do not vet any members, use of this facility is at your own risk. Customers can post any issues in those threads as long as it is done in a civil manner. All diyAudio rules about conduct apply and will be enforced.

TO-3 SYMASYM

Some time ago my friend Joe asked me, if I would like and design an AMP with 2 pairs of TO-3 output transistors.

Both, Joe and I, have a couple of MJ2119x transistors at hand, which are worth to be used.

I studied some of the DIY - AMPs in this forum and felt, that Michael Bittner's SYMASYM would be the best match to do the job.

I transferred his SYMASYM version 5.3 into EAGLE, did not change anything in the frontend, but added the pairs of TO-3 in the backend.
DADOD (thank you very much!) simulated the resulting AMP in LTSpice: the results look perfect!

I have attached the schematics as a PDF-file.

After finishing the layout, I had some space left on the bottom right and left side of the PCB and implemented a standard capacitor-multiplier
for the frontend there.

This is the resulting layout:

The red lines indicate tracks, that are running on the top side.
The TO-3s will be mounted on ALU-brackets.
The size of the PCB is 150 x 100mm.

Joe and I want the PCBs to be etched professionally, having the same quality as the PCBs, that I offered in my group-buys
for Carlos Mergulhao's DX Blame (see the picture below).

Since the SYMASYM, the backend and the capacitor-multipliers are proven circuits, we won't do prototyping.

In order to get a decent (about 13€ per PCB) price from the etching company, I must order at least 10 PCBs.

Maybe some of you like this design (SYMASYM with TO-3) and join the party.
I am sure, it will give you a big bang for your bucks.
Take a careful look at the schematics then and tell me, if I shall change anything.