F5 pcb group buy... - Page 55 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Group Buys

Group Buys Members group buys

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th September 2010, 12:19 PM   #541
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Quote:
Originally Posted by regiregi22 View Post
Is it OK one slow-blow 1.25A fuse to protect one F5? I am going dual psu for it, but Nelson Pass psu schematic doesn't specify if it is for one channel or two. I live in 230v. I will use the thermistors in the transformer.
the normal fuse value for a motor or transformer is 3 * watts / voltage.

If you implement soft start properly then that factor of 3 can be reduced to near 1times.
Due to the way we specify our audio PSUs. I have found that the factor can even be less than 1. I commonly use 0.8 * VA / voltage without incurring nuisance blowing when the soft start is scaled to suit the transformer VA.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2010, 05:54 PM   #542
diyAudio Member
 
regiregi22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
I don't know the total wattage, so without more concrete advices, I will go with twice the recommended. I am not sure if 1.25A fuse will suffice for two F5 channels.

Regards,
regi
__________________
diyAudio, doing it as big as you can, JUST BECAUSE WE CAN!
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2010, 12:26 PM   #543
diyAudio Member
 
regiregi22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Madrid (Spain)
I've been looking for inside the official F5 thread but I couldn't found info about matching the jfets idss (2sk170 and 2sj74). Is there anything expected to gain, performance wise?
I have seen some BOMs that recommends to match them. I think that I have to find one 2sk170 and one 2sj74 with the same idss.

AFAIK, offset is adjusted by trimming pots, so I suspect that there should be small advantages in that sense.

Can anyone apport something to this?

I have almost all my components collected to start building, only need the jfets

Thank you very much to all,

Regards
__________________
diyAudio, doing it as big as you can, JUST BECAUSE WE CAN!
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 05:10 AM   #544
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Send a message via MSN to chchyong89
Quote:
Originally Posted by regiregi22 View Post
AFAIK, offset is adjusted by trimming pots, so I suspect that there should be small advantages in that sense.

Regards
It used to adjust the bias too.
__________________
~.~
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 04:08 AM   #545
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Peter,

What is the largest gauge wire that will fit the output holes on the amp board?
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2010, 02:20 PM   #546
kpaiss is offline kpaiss  Greece
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Im really having hard time locating the panasonic 3w 0.47 resistors.
If anyone knows where can i find them.

Many Thanks !!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2010, 06:20 PM   #547
cjkpkg is offline cjkpkg  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Roswell GA
I get mine from Digikey. 3W panasonics
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2010, 08:14 AM   #548
kpaiss is offline kpaiss  Greece
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjkpkg View Post
I get mine from Digikey. 3W panasonics
oh...
I was sure that from digikey there was a limit order of 1500 pieces for this specific resistor.
My mistake.

Thank you !!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2010, 09:04 PM   #549
shmulik is offline shmulik  Israel
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: country side
Default some hum (?)

I experience some hum, or at least I think it is hum (some small multiple of 50Hz). one has to put his ear to speaker in order to hear the hum, but the target speaker is a 106DB sensitive one and the noise will be much more noticeable there. I measured the ripple of the rails while one channel is attached and properly biased (~0.59 Volts) on a scope and it is ~150mV peak to peak and similar on both rails. when the input is shorted to ground there is no noise at all. when the ground crocodile of the scope prob is attached, the nature of the noise changes.
Has anyone else experienced such noise?
one more odd thing - the rectifier bridge of the positive rail is getting hotter (by hand) than the negative one. I don't know what that hints.

Shmulik
Attached Images
File Type: jpg channel.JPG (99.9 KB, 354 views)
File Type: jpg capacitor bank.JPG (98.9 KB, 355 views)
File Type: jpg transformer.JPG (104.2 KB, 349 views)
File Type: jpg channel+PS.JPG (97.6 KB, 327 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2010, 09:33 PM   #550
diyAudio Member
 
HaflerFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Westmont, IL
Default Wire gauge for PD F5 boards

At Wdavis009:
The absolute largest wire you can use for power/output with the original PD F5 boards is 16-gauge stranded if you twist it up nice and tight.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F3 pcb group buy... h_a Group Buys 253 23rd December 2008 01:40 PM
new to group Lemalin22 Introductions 3 22nd June 2007 02:22 AM
What a group! EvilGenius Introductions 6 25th May 2006 06:16 PM
ono group buy xsnailx Pass Labs 106 14th March 2004 02:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:19 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2