Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Group Buys

Group Buys Members group buys

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th May 2009, 06:15 PM   #101
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default MK132's with "holes" in them (!!!)

I feel like an idiot and most likely I am.

Thanks nonetheless. I am using the MILLs also.

Thanks,
__________________
Rick McInnis
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 09:10 PM   #102
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: london
Hi Peter I cant understand why my email tracks keeps playing up, apologies.

I am after another two boards of the F5 and 4 x power supply boards if you happen to have any around.

My Mosfets keep shorting and overheating and I am not sure as to the reason why. They are insulated from the cooling plate but the holding screw is not isolated any further. However the screw passes through the hole in the IRFP with no visible metal so I presume further insulation is not necessary there. The current limiter was not added to the circuit and grounding is as per your diagram. I use no load when testing the amplifier and only via a variac. I have burnt out about 6 mosfets so far. Any other ideas?? Perhaps the JFETS should be replaced at the same time as well??

Nonetheless one board is damaged with all the 'messing about' trying to sort the problem out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 10:29 PM   #103
diyAudio Member
 
Peter Daniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Send a message via AIM to Peter Daniel
That was a meesage: Delivery to the following recipients failed.

I'm out of PS boards, but F5 amp boards still available. Payment info in the first post.

You don't need to isolate screws. Did you use thermal paste, was heatsink surface properly smoothed out? Where the mosfets placed in proper places; one link to BOM had an error:

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showt...30#post1794930

This is correct BOM: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/attac...amp=1239194429

The input FETS should be OK.
__________________
www.audiosector.com
“Do something really well. See how much time it takes. It might be a product, a work of art, who knows? Then give it away cheaply, just because you feel that it should not cost so much, even if it took a lot of time and expensive materials to make it.” - JC
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 11:10 PM   #104
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: london
HI Peter ok tonight i got the first board going it was an insulation problem just the tiniest of nicks on the edge where the insulator pad had not fully covered. Repositioned the pad and first channel now works fine.Thank goodness for that I was getting quite frustrated. Still the victory is equally emotionally stimulating as the frustrations were.This is my second ever attempt at an amplifier build after the gainclone which i did manage to get right the very first time to my surprise and is still running without a single hiccup!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2009, 05:35 PM   #105
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: london
finished the amp with transformers in a separate case. very sweet sound yet also somewhat more energic than i'm use to, even with carbon hybrid VDH signal cabling internally. Voices sound supremely accurate and present to my ears, the tonality in the midrange is spot on and the bass is typical solid state.... deep and powerful.Needs to burn in and then tried out on my main system before making any further conclusions. Will play it against the gainclone.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2009, 07:50 PM   #106
lafish is offline lafish  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Default pictures please

did you use peter's psu as well?
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2009, 09:32 PM   #107
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: london
yes i did, it made life so much easier
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2009, 11:35 PM   #108
lafish is offline lafish  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
thanks, i'd love to see a shot of your layout
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2009, 05:55 AM   #109
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: south of the border
Quote:
Originally posted by audiojoy
yes i did, it made life so much easier
In which way?
Cheers,
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2009, 10:37 AM   #110
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: london
here is a shot of my set up using an old yamaha p series power amp chassis with heat sinks already built in. Four toroidal transformers sit in the case adjacent externally. As you might be able to make out one of the mosfets has been removed due to burn out I did not use paste!!! Worked for about an hour before burning out.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (79.5 KB, 1377 views)
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F3 pcb group buy... h_a Group Buys 253 23rd December 2008 12:40 PM
new to group Lemalin22 Introductions 3 22nd June 2007 01:22 AM
What a group! EvilGenius Introductions 6 25th May 2006 05:16 PM
ono group buy xsnailx Pass Labs 106 14th March 2004 01:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:38 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2