Gb: F5 Pcb - Page 102 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Group Buys

Group Buys Members group buys

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th December 2009, 07:57 PM   #1011
cHoc is offline cHoc  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Send a message via MSN to cHoc
I've receaved my boards today, thanks Christian!
__________________
Alive and kicking
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2009, 08:00 PM   #1012
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
I am interested in these new boards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2009, 08:13 PM   #1013
cviller is offline cviller  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
cviller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Blog Entries: 2
Sure the you need more heat sink if you run more current. You don't have to do that just because there are more output devices. And I planned on adding an extra set of thermistor holes for the other mosfet. You only have to use one set though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2009, 11:36 PM   #1014
cviller is offline cviller  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
cviller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Blog Entries: 2
Ok, here is what I have come up with. I need to clean the silk screen, but besides this it should be pretty functional.

The board is 190x45 mm. You may notice that I have placed the thermistors differently. This is to make it easier to mount. The drawback is that I had to run traces in between the mosfet footprints, but this should not pose any problems IMO.

Any comments?
Attached Images
File Type: png f5.png (90.8 KB, 952 views)
File Type: png f5_schem.png (71.5 KB, 924 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2009, 12:06 AM   #1015
labjr is offline labjr  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MA
Looks nice with the parts spread out a bit. Not that I would use two pair of outputs but are the pairs too close together?

Why would someone use two pairs of outputs with the same current as one pair?

Last edited by labjr; 5th December 2009 at 12:09 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2009, 12:41 AM   #1016
cviller is offline cviller  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
cviller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by labjr View Post
Looks nice with the parts spread out a bit. Not that I would use two pair of outputs but are the pairs too close together?

Why would someone use two pairs of outputs with the same current as one pair?
Well I have added the extra footprint mostly for people who likes to use more devices - as an extra option. But you are right if you run them at full throttle, you'll need to make sure you can transfer the heat away. You can use a copper spreader if you like.

I think people who wants to do this will probably end up running each device at 700 1000mA or so - if you want to push it further you need prohibitively large heatsinks imo.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2009, 10:29 PM   #1017
cviller is offline cviller  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
cviller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Blog Entries: 2
I have updated my order site - added the new layout and made an GB List page, where you can follow who signs up (and pays).

Order page:
GB order page for cviller

Group buy list:
Group Buy status page

I am considering also doing the F4 - would that be of any interest?
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2009, 02:12 PM   #1018
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Budapest
Thumbs up F5 board

Hi all

I'm a newbie here.
An old plan to build the f5 so i'd like to have such a blue board. I have seen it's now out of stock but if anyone has a spare i'd be grateful.

Karoly
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2009, 04:05 PM   #1019
cviller is offline cviller  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
cviller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Blog Entries: 2
Hi Karoly,

You could join in on the gb of the new design - read post 1017. The boards will be blue again - its just my pcb software that has a preference for making green pngs.
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2009, 05:13 PM   #1020
Botte is offline Botte  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Botte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MN
Hi Cviller,

Have you tried the double output modification? I did and it didnít sound as good as a single pair of output devises. My theory about why this occurred is that it increases the open loop gain hence the amount of feedback in the circuit. The nice sound field moved up front and wasnít as appealing to me.

What do you think about adding a casscode devises for the input?

Thanks,
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2