Rons Austin A126 for the metric freak newbie

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Rons Austion A126 for the metric freak newbie

Hello all,

This is just a sum up of the information I gathered so far -- mostly from the very kind feedback from Dave and Ron (mostly from this thread: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=96999).

All the information here is under the caveat in the subject: Namely I'm a newbie (this is my first speaker build) and I'm just summing up the info avail from more authoritative sources.

1) Building plans

The most up to date building plans for the A126 are avail on Dave's site here: http://www.frugal-horn.com/ronhorns.html.

In that PDF I use the plans on page 3--5 (posted in the full-range.com forum) but with some addded corrections (below).

If I understood it correctly Dave is to redraw the A126 so better plans should be avail soon.

2) Drawings, pictures

I've created a web album at http://picasaweb.google.com/florian.otel/A126HornBuildingPictures

There are pictures of my 1:1 scale drawing of the horn profile with corrected metric dimensions (in mm). The assumed building material thickness is 18 mm.

3) CC volume.

Based on the above (corrected) plans the CC profile has an area of 10931.5 sq. mm. For a front baffle width of 155 mm that leads to a CC volume of 1.69 liters.

As posted by Dave in the above thread the way to reach the recommended 2.2 liters is to extend the CC by moving backwards the top part of the CC:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Based on my calculations if the back of the CC (part 6 in the drawings) is slided backwards for aprox 50 mm the total volume of the CC becomes 2.18 liters.