Notch filter resistor values/latex paint - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th March 2007, 10:24 PM   #1
jay_ess is offline jay_ess  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Notch filter resistor values/latex paint

I have been lurking around this site for a while and have really enjoyed it.
I am building a pair of Cyburg's Needles and have two questions.

On the notch filter, will it make a big difference if the resistor value is 6.5 ohms or 7 ohms as apposed to 6.8? I am still learning about how the notch filters work and wasn't sure.

Also, I have cut and glued all the pieces for my enclosures, except for gluing one side on each one (for testing). I coated the inside of each one with latex paint to try and help with off-gassing. I sanded the paint pretty smooth also because I was concerned about the brush marks impeding the air flow. Would the paint itself have a negative affect on the sound (just curious, I haven't played them yet, still waiting on drivers)? And would the less than smooth walls have made much difference? Again, just curious. I know it probably would have been better to ask both before painting and sanding, but the painting and sanding got me some "garage time", so I don't mind.

Thanks in advance for you help.
Old 9th March 2007, 11:01 PM   #2
Speakerholic
diyAudio Moderator

Hi Jay,

I'm no expert but IMHO:

6.5 or 7 ohm should be fine. It will make only a small difference but leave the options open to test and see if you can hear a diffeence and which you like better.