Fostex 126e or 127e - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th January 2007, 08:37 AM   #1
germpod is offline germpod  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Fostex 126e or 127e

This is my first time posting though I have been reading for a while, so naturally this is a question. After I have a few things built and have something to contribute I plan on posting more often.

I am planning on building a BIB (waiting for plywood to straighten before glueing) and a Spawn of Frugal horn and am wondering from people who have experience with both which driver they prefer, Fostex 126e or 127e to use with those two enclosures.

I currently listen to Cain and Cain noogi's but am having an urge to build a few enclosures for some experimenting.

Any help is appreciated.

Ed Robinson
Old 26th January 2007, 10:35 AM   #2
germpod is offline germpod  United States
diyAudio Member

To add a little more info, I listen to most kinds of music (rock, hip hop, classical, country, just no jazz) and am using a 25watt "gainclone" amp that a friend made for me and cat5 wire. Even though I listen to hip hop, bass is not the end all by any means. I really prefer vocals over all other sounds, though I would like more bottom end then the noogis produce
Old 26th January 2007, 12:27 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

I'd go for the 126 -it's a remarkable unit. If possible, get the modified drivers from Dave of www.planet10-hifi.com The differences between tweaked and standard units are not subtle (and measurable -no voodoo here).
Old 26th January 2007, 04:48 PM   #4
chrisb is offline chrisb  Canada
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Scottmoose