Question on Gio's bipole sealed box - will this work?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I am new to speaker building and look for floor-standing sealed speaker for a 15 sq.m room (3.5 x 4m so too small to bipole I think) for both music and AV. I wonder if the box plan below will work fine in case:

http://diyaudioprojects.com/Speakers/FE127E_SB/FE127E_SB.htm

Case 1: Use dual FE127e per ch but both drivers are on the front panel.

Case 2: Use only one FE127e (i.e. completely ignore the back one).

Many thanks!

Don't try putting two FR drivers on the front baffle or horrible things will happen to the response due to severe comb-filter effects. A single driver is perfectly feasable though. Use 0.5lbs ft^3 of damping material uniform. Don't expect much LF performance though!

If you want compact, personally I'd do this: http://www.planet10-hifi.com/tom-zHorn.html I know it's more complicated, but trust me, if I can build a pair of double horns in my leaking garage, with a 30 year old hand saw and very little else, you should be able to manage it.

The driver on the rear compensates for the baffle step. As Scott mentioned, two drivers on the front will be problematic.

One driver will work, but you will likely find that you will need to compensate for the baffle step.

You will want to couple a sealed design with a subwoofer or two.

Also, look at this thread for a number of designs with the FE127E:

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=46934

That's the only effective way to do it.