Going crazy trying to choose a speaker enclosure!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, all.. first-time poster here. I've been spending several weeks, up until 5AM, just reading all that I can about the unique enclosures everyone is making here. This is an interesting site in that it took a bit of research just to understand all of the acronyms being thrown around. All of the member fullrange pictures are very inspiring.

I'm very intrigued with TL-style enclosures in that I can place them closer to the wall than, say, planars. I also enjoy the possibility of getting better sound out of an enclosure I build myself. Oh, and the low frequency benefits are just as important.

I think since this is my first project, I would start out with a basic 2-fold TL enclosure. I've been reading through the threads about Martin King's excellent MathCad sheets but I'm on a Mac and I don't even really know how to use them in the first place, so I was going to rely on existing enclosure plans. It's tough to find a good enclosure choice here, there are so many, and I know it just depends on what you want to do, but are there really any tried-and-true enclosure plans that folks here reference? I was excited to see the thread on the diyAudio Full Range Reference Project but got lost in the >700 replies. I was expecting to see the discussion produce a finalized project plan but I wasn't sure where that would be, or if the planning was still in progress. I couldn't tell if specifications listed were old revisions or the latest. I am sure the