Spawn of Frugel-Horn

I am looking for suggestions. I have some parts that are sitting on the shelf that were bought a while back with good intentions that have neglected. What I have is a pair of WR125s and a pair of Raven 1 tweeters. My previous experience with these Ravens is that they sound terrible if you try and use them too low, so enter the WR125. Should be a good match. Cross them over at 4-5k and life should be good. But what box should I build?

Should I buy another pair to make the Calhoun? Or would I be happy with the Bob? The MiniOnken is another option. I am just unsure of the strengths and weaknesses of my options.

Thanks.

DaveM

Scottmoose said:
I reckon he might be OK Greg -a fair proportion of the series resistance is probably due to the lack of amp adjustment to Qt (I'm learning... ;) ). Most T-amps have a relatively low DF IIRC, so the T-amp's lack of voltage swinging ability might not be too much of a problem. I'm no expert though as you know, so please put me straight if I'm off the mark on this.

Greets!

Hmm, the driver is nominally 8 ohms, rising in the HF and if an 8 ohm series resistor is used, then the amp is always 'feeling' virtually a minimum of 16 ohms, rising in the HF, so if the amp's power supply isn't 'stiff' enough to provide sufficient voltage on demand..........

Bottom line, if the amp's not rated for 16 ohms, odds are it will 'lay down' big time on fast transients even though it's not being over driven based on its power rating. Remember, the amp's power supply is the most costly portion, so it's where the majority of cost management occurs.

I recently auditioned some Panasonic and Onkyo digital HT receivers that have gotten favorable reviews for their sonics, but when presented with 8 ohms series R with a nominally 8 ohm speaker they reminded me of a '50s AM transistor radio (no highs, no lows, must be @#$% kind of sound), so Caveat Emptor.

GM

Greets!