Enclosures for Fostex FE206 ESR + T90A-EY - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Loudspeakers > Full Range

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 2nd August 2006, 03:46 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Question Enclosures for Fostex FE206 ESR + T90A-EY

Gentlemen,

Sorry for the newbie questions, but I am trying to make sense of different pieces of information I have collected on the net and on this site regarding enclosures for Fostex FE206 drivers.

I recently received as a gift a pair of Fostex FE206 ESR and T90A -EY and I am trying to find relatively simple enclosures to build so I can use these speakers. I use different type of amps, mosfet and old (rebuild) quadII's. I haven't built any Hifi gear for the last 15 years and I am not very technically oriented.

1) Is the recommended enclosure for the FE206E as presented on the fostex site been tried with the FE206 ESR by someone ?

2) Would there be tested alternative and simple designs one might suggest ? WAF is not an issue.

3) My woodworking skills are somewhat limited. The most complex cabinets I ever built were a onken-mahul design with a set of Focal drivers. This was 15 years ago. Still working and enjoyable.

Kind regards,
Sierra
Old 2nd August 2006, 05:17 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I would say that reading from the experience of some diyaudio members, especially No Xo, a noob may probably be best off with the recommended 206ESR enclosure since these drivers seem hard to tame but in the end fare pretty well after plenty of break-in time. For other enclosures expect a LOT of tweaking damping tweaking undamping tweaking redamping,...well you get the point right? It might be a lot of fun to do though.
Old 2nd August 2006, 05:55 PM   #3
diyAudio Member